Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our Name

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu are strong supporters of green hydrogen as a potential future energy source, given its green environmental and social license footprint. With the leadership of Murihiku Regeneration (Ngāi Tahu – Southern leadership), the green hydrogen ecosystem in the South of New Zealand is being comprehensively explored. Based on this, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu have committed to supporting the German-NZ Green Hydrogen Alliance, as the purpose of the alliance aligns with the green hydrogen vision and aspirations of Ngāi Tahu.

On behalf of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, Dr Hana O’Regan (Ngāi Tahu – te reo Māori language expert; Tumu Whakarae/CEO CORE Education) with the support of Aimee Kaio (Ngāi Tahu; German-NZ green hydrogen centre team member), deliberated and created a Māori name for the German-NZ Green Hydrogen Alliance and Centre for Research, Networking and Outreach, including a whakataukī (proverb or brand line). This gift was revealed and celebrated at the opening of the inaugural NZ Hydrogen Symposium (NZHS-1) at the University of Otago on 1 February 2023, in Dunedin, Ōtākou. In this recording Dr O’Regan gives the narrative that underpins the name, He Honoka Hauwai, and proverb:

He honoka hauwai, he hirikapo auaha

A hydrogen alliance, uniting innovative minds

A link to the video in which Dr O’Regan gives the narrative that underpins the Centre’s name, He Honoka Hauwai, and proverb.

The gifted name, logo and proverb. From left to right: A/Prof Anna Garden (Otago), Prof David Murdoch (Vice-Chancellor of the University of Otago), Dr Paul Jerabek (Hereon), Dr Klaus Taube (Hereon), Dr Michael Feiner (Deputy head of mission, German Embassy Wellington), Terry Nicholas (Murihiku Regeneration, Manager of Hokonui Rūnanga, Ngāi Tahu), Edward Ellison (Upoko o Ōtākou Runaka, Ngāi Tahu), Prof Sally Brooker (Otago). Photo: Sharron Bennett

Some of the lead investigators and key people of He Honoka Hauwai together during NZHS-1. Left to Right: Prof Sally Brooker (Otago), Dr Paul Jerabek (Hereon), A/Prof Michael Jack (Otago), Prof Aaron Marshall (Canterbury), Dr Kai Sellschopp (Hereon), Alex Haack (Hereon/Otago), Mirko Ante (GKN Hydrogen), Ivan Hodgetts (Murihiku Regeneration), Dr Klaus Taube (Hereon), Dr Rebecca Peer (Canterbury), A/Prof Jonathan Leaver (Unitec/Te Pūkenga), A/Prof Nigel Lucas (Otago), Lekshmi Dinachandran (Otago)


What we do

This centre is focused on research, networking and outreach and is hosted by the University of Otago and the Institute of Hydrogen Technology Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon in partnership with Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, and with staff at the MacDiarmid Institute, Ara Ake, the NZ Universities, GNS Science, Scion and Callaghan Innovation. The centre’s aims are to build relationships with researchers and industry members across NZ and Germany; other countries are also welcome.

Click here to ‘follow’ us.