Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu


Dr Patrick Sullivan Lecture

The Variant Analysis hub hosted a lecture and postgraduate Q and A Session with Yearn Distinguished Professor Dr Patrick Sullivan.

Date: 10th March 2020
Time: 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Location: Barnett Lecture Theatre, Dunedin Hospital
Organising Committee: Louise Bicknell, Logan Walker, Rebecca Oliver

Supported by Otago Health Sciences Division Chaffer Fellowship 2020

^ Top of Page


Epigenetics Symposium and Workshops

The 2nd EUG Symposium featured keynote speakers Associate Professor Elin Grey (Edith Cowan University of Western Australia) and Dr Felicity Newell (QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute) along with invited and selected presentations. An EWAS pipeline workshop and poster session were also included in the programme.

Date: 12th and 13th March 2020
Time: 9:00 am – 6:30 pm
Location: Hutton Theatre, Otago Museum
Organising Committee: Aniruddha Chatterjee, Rebecca Oliver
Abstract Committee: Mike Eccles, Rachel Purcell, Michelle Thunders, Sarah Diermeier, Andrew Das

Sponsors and Supporters:
Symposium and Workshop Programme

^ Top of Page


Variant Analysis Workshop

Customisable Analysis Workflows for Identification of Clinically Relevant Genetic Variants presented by Dr Miles Benton (Senior Scientist Bioinformatics, Human Genomics, Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR)).

Date: 24th August 2020
Time: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Location: University of Otago Dunedn and Christchurch eConferencing Rooms
Organising Committee: Louise Bicknell, Logan Walker, Rebecca Oliver

^ Top of Page


Poster Evening

Postgraduate and Early Career Research poster evening in collaboration with Genetic Mātai Ira (teaching programme).

Date: 14th September 2020
Time: 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Location: University of Otago, St David Lecture Theatre Complex Foyer
Organising Committee: Rebecca Oliver, Stephanie Hughes
Judges: Indranil Basak, Aniruddha Chatterjee, Tania Slatter, Louise Bicknell, Heather Cunliffe, Tanya Major, Stephanie Hughes, Elizabeth Ledgerwood

400-Level Student Prize: Kelsey McKenzie and Brittany Wyatt (jointly)
PhD Student Prize: Chi Lynch-Sutherland
Early Career Researcher Prize: Rosie Sullivan

^ Top of Page


Career Evening

Annual career event in collaboration with the Departments of Biochemistry and Microbiology & Immunology.

Date: 17th September 2020
Time: 5:30 pm – 8:00 pm
Location: University of Otago, G13 Biochemistry Building
Organising Committee: Rebecca Oliver, Miriam Sharpe, Jennifer Robson, Gillian MacKay

Careers Evening Programme 2020

^ Top of Page


An Audience with…Neil Gemmell

Our ‘An Audience With…’ series is aimed at our postgraduate students (but early career researchers are also welcome to attend) and will provide the opportunity for discussion with experts in their field. This event was hosted by Distinguished Professor Neil Gemmell.

Date: 29th October 2020
Time: 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Location: University of Otago, Health Sciences Divisional Board Room
Organising Committee: Rebecca Oliver, Monica Vallender, Amy Jones

^ Top of Page


Genetics Otago Zoom Symposium

The reintroduction of the Annual Symposium linked Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington members via Zoom for a day of talks from across the breadth of our members’ research. It also included the presentation of our inaugural prizes.

Date: 18th November 2020
Time: 9:30 am – 5:00 pm
Location: University of Otago, G13 Biochemistry Building
Organising Committee: Rebecca Oliver, Louise Bicknell, Logan Walker

Senior Mentor Award: Logan Walker
Peer Mentor Award: Alexander Verry
Student Supervisor Award: Megan Wilson
ECR Publication Award: Megan Leask
Student Publication Award: Lucia Malone

Programme Symposium

^ Top of Page