Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map
Search

Version history

View these instructions in a video.

OURDrive libraries automatically handle versioning. OURDrive will increment the version number each time you edit the properties of a document or edit a document itself.

If needed, you can view a previous version of a document, roll back to it or delete it entirely.

View a file’s version history

Open the library where you wish to view the version history and tick the checkbox next to the file.

From the ribbon, select the Files tab on the ribbon and click the Version History icon.

Alternatively, press the ellipsis (…) to the right of the file name. In the next window, press the ellipsis and choose Version History from the drop-down menu.

Notice version comments. These only can be added when you upload a file or check it in.

View the file contents

To see the actual file, click on the date and time link. This will open it in the appropriate software (Word, Excel, etc.) You will also usually get the option to compare it to the latest version or restore back to the open version.

View the file properties

To view the properties for a particular version, hover the mouse over the Modified date of the version you wish to view.  Click the arrow and select View. This does not display the file contents, only the properties.

If you are viewing the most recent version, you can edit it. Otherwise, you can also delete or restore this version from here. (See more on these below.) Press Close when finished.

Restore a previous version

Open the Version History page of the file as above.

Hover the mouse over the Modified date of the version you wish to restore.  Click the arrow and select Restore.

Click OK to the message: “You are about to replace the current version with the selected version.” This creates a copy of that old version with a new number at the top of the list.

Delete a version

Open the Version History page of the file (see above for instructions).

On the Version History page, hover the mouse over the Modified date of the version you wish to delete. Click the small arrow and select Delete.

Click OK to the message: “Are sure you want to send this version to the site Recycle Bin?” The document version will deleted and sent to the recycle bin.  Note that the number is now missing from the list.

Close the Version History dialog and return to the library.