Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map
Search

Check-in and Check-out

View these instructions in a video.

Checking out a file allows you to make a local copy of it, as well as locking the one in OURDrive so no one can make changes while you are working on it.

When you check out a document you are creating a copy of it on your local machine and changes are only available to other users once you check it back in (when it is uploaded back to the OURDrive server).

If you decide not to make any changes to a document you have checked out, you can discard the check out to “unlock” the document and therefore allow others to edit it.

Considerations

If you have a document checked out, you may forget to check it back in. This means that others will not be able to see your changes.

If necessary, an administrator can undo the check-out, but not check-in your version, so your changes would be lost.

Check out a file

Open the library where you wish to check out a document. Tick the checkbox next to the document.

From the ribbon, select the Files tab and click the Check Out button.

The document will be checked out to you. No matter who has it checked out, you can hover the mouse over the green arrow to see who has it.

Other people will not be able to see the changes you make, until you check the document back in. A green icon appears over the document icon to indicate that the document is checked out.

Check in a document (in the browser – Mac or PC)

Open the library where you wish to check in a document. Tick the checkbox next to the document.

From the ribbon, select the Files tab and click the Check In icon. The document will be checked in and any changes you have made will be available to all users.

Note: Because checking in a document allows you to change the version and add comments, you may want to check it out and in just to have a chance to add these.

Check in a document (inside Microsoft Office – PC only)

Open the document in Microsoft Office that you wish to check in. Once you have finished editing the document, save and close it.

Unless you want to make further edits later, click Yes to the message: “Other users won’t be able to see your changes until you check in. Do you want to check in now?”

Then type in any comments in the Version Comments box and click OK.

Discard a check out

You can only discard your own checked-out documents. Alternatively, Site administrators can override anyone’s check-out.

Discarding a check-out means you lose any changes made while you had it checked-out. Open the library where you wish to discard a check out. Tick the checkbox next to the document.

From the ribbon, select the Files tab and click the Discard Check Out button. The document check out will be discarded.

Automatic check-out if there is required metadata

NOTE: If metadata properties are required, when you upload multiple documents by dragging and dropping, they are all checked out to you until you fill in the metadata. And this check-out cannot be discarded by you or anyone else.